pUrva dhinacharyA – 15

SrI:  SrImathE SatakOpAya nama:  SrImathE rAmAnujAya nama:  SrImath varavaramunayE nama:

Full Series

<< Previous

Dhyathva rahasya trithayam tattva yadathmya darpanam |
Para viyuhadikan pathyuhu prakaran pranidaya cha ||

(w to w)   tattva yadathmya darpanam  – the true nature of soul is reflected as in mirror, rahasya trithayam  – the three rahasyas i.e. Tirumantra, dvaya and Charama Sloka, dhyathva –  meditate with meaning, Para viyuhadikan  – Para, Viyuha etc., pathyuhu  – is of Sriman Narayana, who is the Chief of all worlds, prakaran  – five stages, pranidaya cha  – by meditating…..

(Commentary)  The true nature of a soul is three fold. They are – The soul is in servitude to Sriman Narayana only (ananyarhaseshatva), the soul is to take as the means Sriman Narayana (ananyasaranathva) and the soul is to be experienced only by Sriman Narayana (ananyabhogyatva). In Tirumantra –  ‘Om, Namaha, Narayanaya’ –the three words show the above three stages of soul in the same order. The word Namaha which establishes the meaning of Sriman Narayana, who is the means to get liberation,  is clearly explained in three words of the  first sentence of Dvaya Mantra i.e. ‘Sriman Narayana Charanow Saranam Prapadye’. In Bhagavat Gita, the first sentence of Charama SlokaSarva dharman parithyajya mamemkam saranam vraja, which says that Sriman Narayana, who is Lord Krishna, Himself is a means to get liberation, this has been established. Hence, these three rahasyas show the nature of soul as a mirror. The elaboration of these can be seen in the same rahasyas. The five stages of Sriman Narayana are as follows: Param, Vyuham, Vibhavam, Antaryami  and Archa. 1. Param – In Paramapada, Nitya Suris and Muktas are experiencing Sriman Narayana. 2. Vyuham – Sriman Narayana is reclining in the milky ocean with a view to helping Brahma and other Gods, who clamors for His help. 3. Vibhavam – Born in this world in the form of Rama, Krishna etc. to safeguard the virtuous persons by killing Rakshasas and Asuras. 4. Antaryami – Pervading in and out of all the sentient and non-sentient beings and resides in the heart of jnanis for their meditation of Divya mangala vigraha. 5. Archa – Unlike these four stages which cannot be easily seen, an image form with stone, metal pot. etc. a view to worship Him as we are of less knowledge and valour and during our days, He resides in temples, houses etc.  Apart from this, there is a sixth stage; Acharya stage.  As Periyalwar says, “peethaka vadai piranar pirama guruvagi vandhu” (Periyalwar Tirumozhi 5.2.8) the Lord, who embraced with silk cloths, emerged  as an Acharya to teach about Brahmam.  Hence, by telling Guruparampara, Mamunigal used to think of these six stages in the beginning of the day.

Translation by Sri U.Ve.Dr.M.Varadarajan Swami, MA, MA, PhD

Source: http://divyaprabandham.koyil.org/index.php/2015/09/purva-dhinacharya-tamil-15

archived in http://divyaprabandham.koyil.org

pramEyam (goal) – http://koyil.org
pramANam (scriptures) – http://granthams.koyil.org
pramAthA (preceptors) – http://acharyas.koyil.org
SrIvaishNava education/kids portal – http://pillai.koyil.org

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *